Spring Fire Season Begins in Virginia
On Tuesday the State of Virginia enacted a ban on the outdoor burning of brush, officially marking the beginning of the spring fire season, which runs through April.
According to state law, burning anything withing 300 feet of woodlands, fields, or any other possible fuel source is also prohibited.
Violators face a fine of up to $500. Anyone allowing a fire to escape is liable for the cost of fighting to fire, as well as any damage to others’ property.
According to the Virginia Department of Forestry, last year’s fire season saw 897 separate fires which burned roughly 8,500 acres.
Whether or not you live in Virginia, or plan to burn brush, it’s a good idea to mark the beginning of fire season by evaluating your fire insurance coverage.