President Obama Signs Washington Disaster Dec

March 31, 2011

Yesterday afternoon, President Obama signed the federal disaster declaration ordering federal aid as a supplement to state and local recovery efforts Washington state.

The declaration applies to seven counties that were hit by severe winter weather in January of this year, that included flooding, mudslides and landslides. The counties affected are King, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lewis, Skagit, Skamania, and Wahkiakum.

Federal money is available to state and local governments for emergency work and to help repair or replace storm-damage facilities, on a cost-sharing basis.